Intuition Vs. Paranoia

Growing up my mum often made references to intuition taking care of people. For example, if you get a really bad feeling about walking down a particular road, then you avoid it. If you think your vehicle is trying to kill you, you get a different one. If you feel you really don’t trust someone, then you stay away from them. And this has served me well I think, I have never been dragged down a dark alley and murdered brutally, I have never been in a serious accident, and I have never really had anything particularly bad done to me by another person.

But when does intuition stop being intuition and start becoming paranoia? The title of the first post I submitted to this blog is an example of this; “if I leave the house, I will probably die”. That thought enters my mind rather a lot. I am frequently overcome by a sense of impending doom, and because I am unsure if it is due to intuition trying to save my life or paranoia trying to prevent me having a life, I trust this statement and avoid the perceived danger.

How do you find the line? How do you know if your brain is with you or against you?

I’m in a prison with no walls but I still can’t find the way out.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. tdawneightyone
    Dec 15, 2013 @ 23:33:33

    I’d say intuition hits you in the gut and paranoia stings in your head. Pay attention to where it’s coming from and always go with your gut I say.

    Reply

    • Kitty
      Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:11:25

      I get what you’re saying here, but the problem with anxiety disorders is that every bit of fear feels so real, making it difficult to determine whether it is my head being silly or a ‘gut’ feeling.. A lot of the time I can acknowledge that a fear seems daft and has no basis, but then when I try to go against it, it reduces me to a shivery ball of tears. I don’t often let these more general fears win, but I very rarely face them alone because they are every bit as real as the ‘gut’ instincts, which you would never dream of contradicting.

      Reply

  2. tdawneightyone
    Dec 15, 2013 @ 23:33:52

    Great post btw.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

